06/11/2001

HKUST to Hold Ninth Congregation cum Installation of President

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology will present academic degrees to 2,488 graduates during its Ninth Congregation from 7 to 9 November 2001.

Of these 2,488 graduates, 1,812 are bachelor's degree holders, 602 are master's degree recipients, and 74 are PhDs. Since its establishment in 1991, HKUST has nurtured nearly 16,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students.

On 9 November, the University will install its second president, eminent physicist Prof Paul C W Chu. President Chu took over the helm on 1 July 2001, and is expected to lead HKUST to a new level of achievement in its second decade. On the same day, honorary doctorates will be conferred on four distinguished persons for their outstanding contribution to education, research and public service. Prof Leo Esaki, President of the Shibaura Institute of Technology and the 1973 Nobel Laureate in Physics, will be awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Science. Dr Lau Wah-Sum, Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority, will be presented an honorary Doctor of Business Administration. Prof Leo Ou-Fan Lee, Professor of Chinese Literature at Harvard University, will be conferred an honorary Doctor of Humanities. Prof Wang Debing, Chairman of the University Council of Peking University and a distinguished hematologist, will be awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Science.

The University's top teaching award--the Michael G Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching--will be awarded to Associate Professor Andrew Horner of the Department of Computer Science. An expert in audio engineering and computer music, Dr Horner attributes his success to a simple philosophy: putting students first.

Germaine Chan Chore Man, former President of the HKUST Students' Union, will be presented the Stephen Cheong Kam-chuen Medal for Distinguished Service to the Student Body for actively encouraging student participation in campus activities.