

11/11/2005

HKUST Celebrates 13th Congregation

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) held its 13th Congregation Ceremony from 9 to 11 November, conferring 1,784 Bachelor's, 1,182 Master's, and 119 doctoral degrees.

The Honorable Donald Tsang, Chancellor of HKUST and Chief Executive of the Hong Kong SAR, officiated at the Congregation Ceremony today (11 November 2005).

Mr Tsang also unveiled a sculpture dedicated to HKUST Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Court, Dr the Honorable Sir Sze-Yuen Chung. The sculpture will be placed in the Sze-Yuen Chung Council Chamber in recognition of Dr Chung's immense contributions to the University.

This year the University is also proud to present honorary doctorates to three distinguished awardees for their contributions to society and academia. They are: Prof Alexei Abrikosov, Winner of the 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics, discoverer of Type II superconductors and an associated magnetic property; Doctor of Science *honoris causa*; Dr John Chen Sau-Chung, technology



industry leader, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President of Sybase, one of the world's largest independent software vendors; Doctor of Business Administration *honoris causa*; and Prof Samuel C C Ting, Winner of the 1976 Nobel Prize in Physics and discoverer of the *J particle*; Doctor of Science *honoris causa*.

Congregation also saw other University awards presented for outstanding achievements.

Dr King Lau Chow, Associate Professor of Biology, received HKUST's highest accolade in teaching, the Michael G Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching. Dr Chow is cited for his impressive mix of methods and materials, and for putting enormous effort into course design.

This year's Stephen Cheong Kam-chuen Medal for Distinguished Service to the Student Body was awarded to Dicky Yuen Yik Ting, President of the 12th session of Students' Union, for his constructive contributions to student governance and campus internationalization.

The 13th Congregation will expand the ranks of HKUST alumni to over 25,000 since the University's establishment in 1991.





